Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

SHM Awards Three Hospital Medicine Leaders with Exclusive Masters in Hospital Medicine Designation

April 20, 2017

About SHM

Representing the fastest growing specialty in modern healthcare, the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) is the leading medical society for hospitalists and their patients.

Learn more

Noteworthy Honor Reserved for Leaders Making Significant Contributions to Hospital Medicine

The Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) recently named three new Masters in Hospital Medicine, who will be honored on May 2 at Hospital Medicine 2017, the largest educational and networking event dedicated to the hospital medicine specialty, in Las Vegas, Nevada. The Master in Hospital Medicine (MHM) designation was introduced in 2010 to honor those who demonstrate experience in the principles of leadership, teamwork and quality improvement within the specialty of hospital medicine.

“As hospital medicine continues to evolve, we look to these outstanding experts in hospital medicine to lead us into the future with their innovation and vision,” notes Laurence Wellikson, MD, MHM, Chief Executive Officer of SHM. “These accomplished individuals have played important roles in hospital medicine’s growth and success and continue to be actively involved in providing key leadership for hospital medicine as we create the future of health care.”
SHM is proud to announce the following new Masters in Hospital Medicine for their outstanding contributions to SHM and the hospital medicine specialty:


  • Vineet Arora, MD, MPP, MHM, Associate Professor of Medicine, Assistant Dean for Scholarship and Discovery and the Director of GME Clinical Learning Environment Innovation at the University of Chicago School of Medicine, in honor of her leadership and extensive contributions to the field of hospital medicine, SHM and her impact as an academic hospitalist. Dr. Arora leads the social media strategy and serves as Deputy Editor of the Journal of Hospital Medicine, has been an active member of SHM’s Physicians in Training Committee, and has served in diverse roles with SHM’s Annual Meeting and research programs.


  • Burke Kealey, MD, MHM, Senior Medical Director of HealthPartners Medical Group’s Division of Hospital Specialties, in honor of his innovative clinical leadership and contributions to the hospital medicine specialty and SHM. Dr. Kealey has developed scheduling systems to reconcile teaching and non-teaching physician responsibilities and optimize attending continuity with patients and students and residents, has been active in various SHM committees and sat on SHM’s Board of Directors for 7 years, including as Board President from 2014 to 2015.


  • Richard Slataper, MD, MHM, Medical Director of the Hospital Medicine Service at Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center, in honor of his foundational leadership in the specialty and innovations in quality management, process improvement and patient safety. Dr. Slataper has pioneered the use of RNs for medication reconciliation, post-discharge callbacks and transitions of care, has shown dedication to improving practice management in various ways, and was instrumental in the formation and development of SHM.