Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

SHM Board Members

Board Nominations are Now Closed

Thank you to those that submitted nominations for the 2023 Board of Directors. This role helps shape the goals of SHM and make an impact on the rapidly growing field of hospital medicine. Nominees will be notified in a few weeks. The three-year term will begin in March 2023.

Questions? Contact us at or call 1-800-843-3360.

Current Officers

Rachel Thompson, MD, MPH, SFHM
Snoqualmie, Washington


Kris Rehm, MD, SFHM
Nashville, Tennessee


Flora Kisuule, MD, MPH, SFHM
Baltimore, Maryland


Robert P. Zipper, MD, MMM, SFHM
Bend, Oregon


Immediate Past President
Jerome C. Siy, MD, MHA, SFHM
St. Paul, Minnesota

Board of Directors


Bryce Gartland, MD, SFHM
Atlanta, Georgia


Kierstin Cates Kennedy, MD, MSHA, SFHM
Birmingham, Alabama


Efrén C. Manjarrez, MD, SFHM, FACP
Davie, Florida


D. Ruby Sahoo, DO, MBA, SFHM
Austin, Texas


Mark W. Shen, MD, SFHM
Austin, Texas


Darlene Tad-y, MD, SFHM
Aurora, Colorado


Chad T. Whelan, MD, MHSA, SFHM
Tucson, Arizona