Skip to content

Welcome to Society of Hospital Medicine

Your Browser Is No Longer Supported. Please upgrade your browser from Internet Explorer 10 to Internet Explorer 11 or higher

Maintenance of Certification for Hospitalists

Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM)

Achieve and Maintain Your Hospital Medicine Board Certification

With the ongoing rapid growth of hospital medicine, SHM has encouraged and supported the development of a distinct hospital medicine certification program by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the American Board of Family Medicine (ABFM).

Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM)

As a result, ABIM and ABFM each offer a Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine (FPHM) designation for their Board Certified internists and family medicine physicians who are practicing hospitalists.

The FPHM designation recognizes the unique and specialized knowledge, skills and attitudes of hospitalists in their practice and care of patients.

Steps toward FPHM certification: 

If you are already Board Certified in Internal Medicine or Family Medicine you can choose to enter the FPHM program and achieve and maintain your FPHM certification by fulfilling the following requirements:

  • Complete a self-attestation and receive an SHO attestation of your hospital practice experience
  • Pass a Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine Maintenance of Recertification (MOC) Exam
  • Earn MOC Self-Assessment points
  • Maintain an unrestricted license

Specific requirements vary between ABIM and ABFM for eligibility, program entry and maintaining FPHM certification.

Review the ABIM and ABFM websites for complete details.

Note: if you choose to earn the FPHM designation, you will no longer be required to take the Internal Medicine or Family Medicine MOC exam.


Discover how SHM’s comprehensive online self-assessment tool, SPARK ONE can help you with your exam prep needs.