

1500 Spring Garden Street Suite 501 • Philadelphia, PA 19130 P: 800.843.3360 • F: 267.702.2690 www.hospitalmedicine.org

## President

Jerome C. Siy, MD, MHA, SFHM Saint Paul, Minnesota

### President-Elect

Rachel Thompson, MD, MPH, SFHM Snoqualmie, Washington

### **Treasurer**

Kris Rehm, MD, SFHM Nashville, Tennessee

### Secretary

Flora Kisuule, MD, MPH, SFHM Baltimore, Maryland

#### Immediate Past President

Danielle Scheurer, MD, MSCR, SFHM Charleston, South Carolina

#### **Board of Directors**

Tracy Cardin, ACNP-BC, SFHM Oak Park, Illinois

Bryce Gartland, MD, SFHM *Atlanta, Georgia* 

Efrén C. Manjarrez, MD, SFHM, FACP Davie, Florida

Mark W. Shen, MD, SFHM Austin, Texas

Darlene Tad-y, MD, SFHM Aurora, Colorado

Chad T. Whelan, MD, MHSA, SFHM *Tucson, Arizona* 

Robert P. Zipper, MD, MMM, SFHM Bend, Oregon

Chief Executive Officer Eric E. Howell, MD, MHM

# So much can happen in 25 years.

Just one year after the term "hospitalist" was coined by Drs. Bob Wachter and Lee Goldman, Drs. John R. Nelson and Winthrop F. Whitcomb founded the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM) in 1997. This year, we proudly celebrate our 25th anniversary, an incredible milestone for our specialty.

Throughout the last 25 years, hospital medicine has brought immeasurable value to the healthcare industry and the patients we treat. Together, we influence the value equation by enhancing quality, supporting better coordination of care, and minimizing practices that do not add value or improve outcomes.

We offer so much more than day-to-day care. Hospitalists drive collaboration with specialists and administrators, elevate safety practices, facilitate transitions of care for patients, and support evidence-based and patient-centered care. Our impact has never been more apparent than it is today, amid an ever-evolving pandemic.

Every year, we celebrate individuals and teams that represent significant progress and contributions to our specialty and are the embodiment of our values with the SHM Excellence in Teamwork Award. In 2019, Dr. Harry Cho and his team received the Teamwork Award in Quality Improvement for reducing overuse, decreasing costs, and facilitating outstanding care and patient relationships at Mt. Sinai Hospital. In 2014, SHM recognized a team led by Dr. Samir S. Shah at Cincinnati Children's Medical Center for enhancing teamwork among the frontline care team to improve care for hospitalized pediatric patients. The INTERdisciplinary Approaches to Communication and Teamwork (INTERACT) team, led by Drs. Mark Williams and Kevin O'Leary at Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago, received SHM's prestigious award in 2013 for improving teamwork among physicians, nurses, and other clinicians.



Where would healthcare be without the contributions of these great leaders and practitioners? Visionary teams like these can be found throughout our membership and have advanced the contributions of hospital medicine over the last 25 years.

While it's important to remember where we began and the milestones that have brought us here, SHM is focused on the future of our specialty and the healthcare industry. We are proud of the growth of hospital medicine and the impact we've made. We have an even greater vision for the next 25 years. With industry-leading education and networking opportunities, we invite you to join SHM and participate in our history of leadership and innovation.

As we celebrate our 25th anniversary, we thank each of you for making SHM a leader in the future of care. We look forward to growing together.

Eric E. Howell, MD, MHM

**CEO** 

Jerome C. Siy, MD, MHA, SFHM

E & Hower

President, Board of Directors

Jun Sing